Kristin Coen-Mishlan Spring 2015 Spotlight on Success

Kristin Coen-MishlanWhere did you grow up?

I grew up in Glouster, a small rural town outside of Athens, near Burr Oak State Park.

Where did you go to high school?

Trimble High School

When did you graduate from Rio?

Spring 2006

What was your major?

Music Education

What made you choose Rio?

I really enjoyed the atmosphere of Rio Grande, and the professors I auditioned with.  I was offered a scholarship which helped solidify my decision.

What was your best professional experience at Rio (exhibition, recital, performance)?

My senior recital, which took place at the Ariel Theatre in Gallipolis, was the best professional experience I had while at Rio.

What was your favorite course at Rio…and why?

Music theory, although I wasn’t too fond of it at the time.  It was challenging, yet rewarding to be successful and learn so much about music.

What do you miss most about Rio?

I miss the professors, my sorority, and all the friends I made when I was there.

What advice would you give current students at Rio?

Work hard!  You may feel overwhelmed with the amount of work professors ask you to do, but they are doing you a favor.  Becoming a part of a professional community means that you need to be prepared for the future you choose, and applying the education you learn.

Where do you work now? What’s your job title?

I am a graduate assistant at Kent State University, where I am studying for my Ph.D. in Music Education.

What was your first “big break”?

My first big break was my first job at Huntington Local Schools in Chillicothe, OH, as the instrumental band director.

What are some of your greatest or most recent professional achievements?

I have recently been accepted to present at the poster session of the Colloquium for Teachers of Instrumental Music Methods.  Also, I have recently presided and participated in clinics at the 2015 Ohio Music Education Association.

What kinds of art or music are you making now?

I am focused on music education right now, and I’m not currently performing in any ensembles.   

What’s next in your career?

I expect to finish my Ph.D. coursework in 2016 and begin my dissertation.  From there I will search for a job in higher education, or seek a position at state or national arts advocacy programs.

If you could spend the day with any fine artist, living or dead, who would it be?

Glenn Miller

What is your: Favorite book: I don’t typically read for pleasure, but some books that I’ve found extremely useful and enjoyable to read are Instrumental Music Education: Teaching with Musical and Practical in Harmony, by Feldman & Contzius; Education and Democracy in the 21st Century, by Nel Noddings; and Curriculum: From Theory to Practice, by Wesley Null.

Favorite musician: Is this really possible to answer?  I enjoy listening to a variety of music.

Favorite movie: Not much of a movie person, but I like Pretty Woman and While You Were Sleeping.

Favorite food: Living in Northern Ohio, I really miss Gold Star Chili, and Casa del Taco in Chillicothe!

Favorite quote: ‘As in any other venture, the future is bright if we look forward to our challenges rather than dwelling on our problems.’ (Robert Glidden)

If you couldn’t have a career in the arts, what would you do for a living?

I would probably be in some other aspect of education, or be in the medical field.

Do you live with a spouse, children, roommates or pets?

I live with my husband, Donald Mishlan, and two cats, Sabre Tooth and Rocky.

What’s the one thing that most people don’t know about you?

I completed a sprint triathlon in 2014.

Share This